The Sad Reality of Social Services and Funding (Or Should I say, Lack-Thereof) in the US

Motivation, Inspiration and Life

Budget

I started my day rushing about the office, arriving 30 minutes early to finish work that was incomplete from the night before – winding myself up for a day of overlapping appointments, unexpected chaos, and little time for lunch or bathroom breaks. As usual, there were posters advertising upcoming trainings hung at various locations throughout the office and, as usual, in my hustle to organize medications, fax forgotten documentations from the night prior and heat up oatmeal in a paper cup for breakfast, I did not give the flyer a second thought…. I did not have time to give anything a second thought…

Ohh the joysof being an underpaid, not for profit, community mental health counselor.

As the day progressed I managed to grab a coffee and sneak back to the office for a few minutes between clients. I stood by my mailbox, grabbed the contents of already opened envelopes…

View original post 450 more words

Leave a Reply

